The Creativity of Skincare: Gravitas Med Spa

How can I describe my Gravitas facial? One word: Incredible! Honestly, though, it was amazing, as it was hydrating, relaxing, and therapeutic. The facial lasted over an hour and truly cleansed and re-balanced my skin. Elaine Alberto, the head esthetician, administered my facial. After examining my skin, she knew exactly what it needed.

Gravitas is located in the heart of Rodeo Drive (inside the Rodeo Collection), and your experience there will definitely be a personalized escape. The soothing setting of Gravitas is an opportunity for anyone that walks through their doors to regroup their mind, body, and soul rejuvenation and relaxation. Every experience begins with an aromatic sensory experience to relax and decrease any tensions or anxieties. 

You may be wondering, why is the name ‘Gravitas’? You may even have heard this word once or twice before, or you may not be entirely familiar with it. This means conveying confidence, and not letting any self-doubt, reservations, or mental thought of lacking the ability to execute affect our ability to contribute to the world around us.

“From this moment, we realized how much it lit a fire under our soul to help others, on their journey towards optimizing their personal growth,” said Alberto. It also gave Elaine the idea of how Gravitas (and team members) can combine their skills and passion to cultivate a space where we can do just that — help bring out the best possible version of themselves holistically. 

When Gemma Magzine was invited for a facial, I jumped at the opportunity. My skin happens to be extremely dry and hydration is a major factor (especially this time of year). Therefore the Gravitas team (led by Elaine Alberto) used products that were meant for cleansing, exfoliation, hydration, and finally; repair. Afterward, I felt unbelievable in body, mind, and soul. I also thought it was wonderful how Elaine explains the entire educational process during segments of the facial. When Elaine had a moment to stop, we had a chance to ask her detailed questions about my specific facial.

What inspired you to start Gravitas Med Spa?
Gravitas Medspa is the brainchild of me and my eldest daughter, Angelica. We came up with the idea of combining our passions and skills in beauty and wellness to empower anyone who desires to bring out the best version of themselves. Therefore, with my nursing background and my daughter’s developing skills as a prospective doctor of physical therapy, our goal is to provide a variety of services, resources, and education that will help individuals look and feel their best selves inside and out. My passion for beauty and skin esthetics and understanding of skin types’ diversity has driven me to help individuals solve their skin problems to look their best and improve their confidence. GRAVITAS MEDSPA is a place where we can help cultivate this holistic, nurturing environment for the people we have the opportunity of working with. This is the place where we can express our creativity to offer a unique GRAVITAS EXPERIENCE.
Another significant influence in the creation of Gravitas was the inspiration and mentorship of my friend, Ms. Olivia Quido Co, who encouraged us to pursue this passion in beauty and wellness.

Elaine Alberto

My facial was amazing. Also, my concern was dry skin as well as fine lines. Can you pls. Explain the facial you administered to me? I know it consisted of exfoliation, extraction, and hydration?
I am so happy that you like your facial experience at GRAVITAS. What you’ve experienced was our “ULTIMATE SKIN VENEER TREATMENT,” one of our skincare treatments that have many excellent benefits aside from giving you instant, glowing skin. This particular treatment also includes applying our “Veneer Gel” that helps detoxify the skin, tightens the skin to soften fine lines and wrinkles, reduces pigmentation and pore size, and helps to brighten the skin instantly. It also includes EPIDERMAL SWEEP, an effective and safe exfoliation treatment that removes dead skin and peach fuzz hair, that if not removed, will lead to dirt and oil buildup causing acne and comedones. The epidermal sweep also helps promote deeper product penetration, boosting the effects of skincare products while making your skin look and feel smoother and brighter. A facial massage and lymphatic drainage are also performed with a facial rejuvenation using cell repair and collagen serum infusion. The final step is the application of the LED light for a synergistic effect with our veneer gel.

What products does Gravitas use?
The field of aesthetics is growing and expanding at a rapid pace. New products and procedures are flooding the market, and for these reasons, I never stop researching and looking for the best products available in the market. Most of our products are from Germany, containing only the finest ingredients. As promised, we only use high-quality products that give an excellent result, making a difference in our client’s facial experience!

What do you love most about your job?
Doing what I love and what I do best is priceless but seeing my client’s reaction and hearing them say that it was a one-of-a-kind experience is very fulfilling and satisfying. My clients can feel my energy and my passion for what I do. Teaching is also second nature to me, and I’m so happy when I can educate my clients about skincare. I actively listen to any questions or concerns they might have and hope to accomplish with a particular treatment. Besides, a client wants to unwind and relax when they come to us. When performing the treatment, I calmly explain each step in the procedure not to require them to respond.
I can say that I genuinely enjoy every minute of my job; as the saying goes, “If you love what you do, you’ll never work a day in your life.” But with anything, it is hard work, dedication, and a commitment to learning and growing— all of which motivates me to become the best aesthetic nurse that I can be for my clients.

What do you recommend for women in their 40’s and 50’s to do for fantastic skin? I am assuming it’s never too late.
Each age group has different skincare needs, and I customize each treatment based on their skin type and what they hope to accomplish when they visit us at Gravitas. I also discuss their goals during our consultation to make sure I have complete clarity. Ensuring that each client gets exactly what they need and want will help build the relationship and ensure they will see us again. An essential piece of advice I share with each of my clients is that our skin regenerates every 28 days, but as we age, this process starts to slow down, causing fine lines and wrinkles, hyperpigmentation, clogged pores, and dull skin. Therefore, it is imperative to exfoliate every month to remove the unwanted dead skin and make way for new and brighter skin.
We are an intimate spa tucked in the middle of Rodeo Drive, and we highly encourage everyone to come and visit us and feel the one of a kind GRAVITAS experience.

You can follow Gravitas and all the services that they offer at: https://www.instagram.com/gravitasmedspa/

https://www.facebook.com/gravitasmedspa

or visit their website: www.gravitasmedspa.com

 

One comment

  1. Good job, E!!!

    fyi… loved that you explained “gravitas”… did you know my “company” for writing is Gravitas Videm? In Latin, I have seen with my own eyes those things which have depth and meaning.

    Like

Leave a comment